Oklahoma Bankers Association
OBA News and Information
Linked In Email News

New OBA chairman, officers elected at convention

Curtis Davidson, CEO of First National Bank & Trust in Ardmore, was inducted as chairman of the Oklahoma Bankers Association at the OBA's 119th Annual Convention and Trade Show, held May 24-25 at the Renaissance Tulsa.

Davidson has been heading the bank since 2000. He is a graduate of East Central University in Ada and owned certified public accounting practices in Sulphur and Ardmore for 25 years before joining First National.

Sandy Werner, CEO of First National Bank and Trust, Elk City, was elected as the association's first vice chairman. She will move into the vice chairman's seat (currently occupied by Guy Sims, president and chairman of the board of Shamrock Bank, N.A., in Coalgate) next year and into the chairman's spot in 2018.

In other convention business, the OBA membership elected bankers to six seats on the association's board of directors. The new directors, who will serve three-year board terms, are:

  • Stuart Sander, president and CEO, Security State Bank, Cheyenne;
  • L. Bruce Boehs, president and CEO, Farmers & Merchants National Bank, Fairview;
  • Robert Jennings, chairman/CEO, Peoples National Bank, Checotah;
  • Bryan Cain, president, Security State Bank, Wewoka;
  • Joey Root, president and CEO, First Liberty Bank, Oklahoma City;
  • Mark Poole, president and COO, The First National Bank and Trust Company of Broken Arrow.

Nine board directors completing their terms were recognized for their years of service. Honored were:

  • David Cook, Bank of Laverne, Laverne;
  • Eddie Dabney, All America Bank, Cache;
  • John Bryant, Bank of Cushing, Cushing;
  • Heath Hartley, Oklahoma State Bank, Vinita;
  • Don Sherman, McClain Bank, Purcell;
  • Jill Castilla, Citizens Bank of Edmond, Edmond;
  • Frank Henke IV, American Bank and Trust Co., Tulsa;
  • Sandy Werner, First National Bank & Trust, Elk City
  • Scott Copeland, BancFirst, Oklahoma City.

The OBA honored banks and bankers who have committed their time and effort to the state's banking industry during the Chairman's Brunch held at the convention. Those recognized are listed below.

Ten longtime bankers were inducted into the OBA's 50-Year-Club. These individuals have devoted 50 years or more of their lives to their banking careers. Inductees include:

  • Karla Brakefield, McClain Bank, Purcell;
  • Jimmie Browning, The Idabel National Bank, Idabel;
  • Donald Copeland, BancFirst, Oklahoma City;
  • Travis David Mask, Farmers State Bank, Allen;
  • John Massey, First United Bank & Trust, Durant;
  • Rita Pjesky, Bank of Kremlin, Goltry;
  • Barbara Sanders, Farmers State Bank, Allen;
  • Deanna Weed, Security National Bank, Enid;
  • Donna Wheeler, The First National Bank of Pawnee, Pawnee;
  • Letha Wood, First United Bank & Trust, Ada.

School Board Chairs
Five bankers were honored for their service as chairpersons of various OBA school boards. Honored were:

  • Tim Holt, Bank of Commerce, Yukon – Basic Banking & Intermediate Schools;
  • Alan Schaefer, Valliance Bank, Oklahoma City — Commercial Lending School;
  • Jeff DeSpain, BancFirst, Edmond — Consumer Lending School;
  • Kathryn Ivey, Shamrock Bank, N.A., Coalgate — Compliance School;
  • Leigh-Anne Taylor, NBC Bank, Oklahoma City — Operations School.

Committee Chairs
Five bankers were honored for their service as chairpersons of the committees and boards that drive the OBA's programs. These individuals have devoted considerable time and effort to ensure a quality trade association. Honored were:

  • Larry DeWitt, Farmers Exchange Bank, Cherokee – Agriculture Committee;
  • Larry Briggs, First National Bank, Shawnee – PAC Committee;
  • Curtis Davidson, First National Bank, Ardmore – Government Relations Council;
  • Beth Parrett, The Bankers Bank, Oklahoma City — Women In Banking Committee;
  • Rick Favors, Bank of Oklahoma, Oklahoma City — Bank Fraud and Security Council.

Back to top